Valentine’s Day Weekend

The past few days have been fun – but cold!  It’s snowy and windy.  And cold, cold, cold.

But it’s nice inside!  Jace seems to like his new table.  He has broken all six of his pieces of chalk (of course) and he completely surprised me the first day he played with the table….  I watched him start drawing, then headed into the other room to get breakfast started.  All of a sudden I hear Jace say “down”, so I peek around the corner.  Turns out Jace can climb on top of the table.  Hmmm!  He can get up, but not down.  I wonder if I need to reinforce the supports for the table top?  Or maybe just teach him not to sit on the table?  Yeah, maybe that one….
IMG_0655 IMG_0662

After a morning playdate, Jace and I headed out for some groceries.  They had a soup sample and Jace was excited.  He doesn’t quite have the hang of spoons yet though.
IMG_0676 IMG_0679

Here’s a picture from just before our drive back to the house.  It’s probably not that great a picture, but I love it.  Jace is just so cute!  I’ve learned that, when possible, it’s great if I can let Jace do things when he’s ready to do them.  Diaper changes on my time schedule are sometimes a battle.  But if I wait for him to initiate, they’re great.  Same with getting into the carseat.  If we’re in a hurry and he’s not ready, it’s not fun.  But if I can wait two minutes and ask if he’s ready for the car seat, he’ll crawl right in and sit down and wait for the buckle.  Same with putting on his coat, his shoes, his socks, etc.  So – we got in the car after shopping and Jace wasn’t quite ready for the car seat.  So we just hung out in the back seat.  We shared some crackers and laughed and laughed and laughed.  I don’t even remember what we were laughing about (probably the crumbs all over the car – ha), but we were having a great time.  Eventually, Jace hugged me and then climbed into the car seat on his own.  So, yeah, I really like this picture.  Even though he’s got cracker crumbs on his face and his eyes are closed (because he’s laughing so hard!).  I just love him soooo much!!!!  I love that I get to spend my days with him.  Moments like this one are the best!
IMG_0681

Valentine’s Day was a busy day for us!  We headed to the library for the Preschool Block Party (tons of building blocks).  A bunch of Jace’s playmates showed up and we all pretty much agreed that building with blocks is a bit beyond their age group right now.  The kids liked dragging cars along the heating system and enjoyed knocking over the towers, but it was pretty much the husbands playing with the blocks.  But Adam had a good time!  And he got to meet some of our new friends.
IMG_0695 IMG_0696

After the Block Party, we went to Q’doba.  Here are my two cute Valentine’s Day dates!IMG_0701 IMG_0704

Jace likes candles.  He gets really excited to light the candle on the dinner table.  And he gets really excited to blow out the lighter we use to light the candle.  Adam upped the game and created “birthday training” program for Jace.  We light a birthday candle and Jace blows it out.  And then we do it again.  And again.  And again.  With lots of high fives.  It’s pretty cute (video below).
IMG_0716
IMG_0717 IMG_0718

Birthday Practice – video

After refusing to wear them since he was 10 months old, Jace has rediscovered bibs.  He likes to have you put multiple bibs around his neck, then he tears them off and throws them around the kitchen.  Not quite the goal.  But he’s such a messy eater I’m not sure if the bibs would even help that much anyways.

We did get some snow, but not much.  And it was so light that Jace and I could sweep our neighbors’ driveway while Adam used the shovel to do ours.IMG_0719 IMG_0720

Today Adam got the chance to watch Jace play with the pinto beans.  Playing on the table is so much less mess.  I think it’s great!  Adam sat on the couch and just stared in horror almost the whole time.  I asked what was wrong and he just kept mentioning the mess.  And here I thought we were being so contained!  Oh well.  Playing with the beans will be a “while-Daddy’s-at-work” activity, I think.  Jace has fun.
IMG_0733 IMG_0734 IMG_0736 IMG_0741

After the trauma of the beans, Jace and Adam had some relaxing – AND TIDY – fun playing on the iPad.
IMG_0723

After nap time, we decided Jace deserved to open his Christmas present.  He got so much stuff on Christmas that we put our present to him in the basement for the last two months.  But today was the day.  Mega Blocks!  He and Adam played with them for a while and seemed to have fun.  I am hoping it’s a fun activity for Jace to do on the new table.  We’ll see.  The blocks are a great size for his hands though.
IMG_0757
IMG_0767

Lastly, here’s a short video of Adam and Jace playing chase.  Lately everything says “roar”.  Which is kinda true….  Lions, tigers, bears, and apparently me and Adam.  Since this video Adam has taught Jace that “mama” blows a kiss instead of roaring!

Chase and Roar – video

2 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day Weekend

  1. I’m laughing so hard I’m crying!!!!!
    This has got to be the bestest post ever!!
    What does mama say- that’s priceless!!
    And Adams expression while playing with the beans!! Boys are sooo different than girls don’t you think?!?!!!
    And jace is the cutest! His hat adds to the adorable-ness!
    The table looks seriously great! I love that it’s so functional and has so many purposes!
    And the birthday practice- your family is sooo cute!
    Oh my goodness!
    Roar!

  2. Umm, I don’t want to spoil the fun, but when Adam asks, “What does Mama say?” Jace doesn’t answer with a roar. He answers with a BURP, one of those loud ones that happen when you’re sitting around at play group, drinking BEER. Where are the pictures of THAT, SR? Huh? Huh? Oh… it doesn’t happen and it really was a roar? Never mind, then. 🙂 (wal)

Leave a Reply

