Happy New Year!

Happy 2015!

I haven’t posted in the past few days because there hasn’t been too much to post about lately….  We did some post-Christmas sale shopping and Jace discovered some swords.  He likes anything with a handle right now.  A few of his Christmas presents have handles (the coloring kit, the music player, the laptop) and he likes to carry them around the house by the handle.  Very cute.  He’s had a great time playing with his new toys!
IMG_4446
IMG_4484

We stopped at Weis for a few items the other day.  I set the basket on the ground while I looked at something, and Jace climbed right in.  Then he looked at me expectantly.  I asked Adam what he thought Jace wanted and Adam replied, “Remember the other day when I took Jace to the store while you did some cleaning?  Yeah, Jace had a great time sitting in the basket while I dragged him around the store.”  Ha! 
IMG_8669 IMG_8671

Jace was sick the last few days.  I’m not sure what he had, exactly, but he was running a fever (~100.5F), was really sleepy, and had zero interest in food.  I thought we’d head to Crayola or at least go for a walk, but all Jace wanted to do was cuddle and sleep.  We did lots (and lots and lots and lots) of reading.

The first full day of fever, Jace seemed to want to play in the tub.  So we did a long afternoon bath!  Jace likes to hide in the shower curtain, then jump out and yell to surprise you.  It was cute for a while, but then Jace realized that I’m not the one that usually plays with him during bath time.  Apparently my reactions weren’t quite right.  And I definitely didn’t know the correct way to play with the stacking cups.  Eventually he got so frustrated with my inability to replicate a Daddy bath time experience that he turned off the faucet, drained the tub, and stared at me until I got his towel.  Oh well.  We had fun for a little while!  And his “I want out of the tub” face was adorable.
IMG_8708 IMG_8707
IMG_8712 (2)

Jace didn’t seem to be feeling any better the next day.  He slept a lot and cuddled a lot.  We built a tunnel for his new toy cars and Jace helped me decorate it.IMG_8722 IMG_8724

We ran some errands that evening.  We stopped at Chick fil A for dinner and Jace ate half a slice of cheese (his first solid food in 48 hours).  Our order got a little screwed up, so somehow we ended up with an extra ice cream cone.  Jace was pretty happy!  Half a slice of cheese and a few bites of ice cream.  Excellent dinner!
IMG_8727
IMG_8725

Last night was a bit of a rough night….  Jace was sleeping pretty fitfully and kept waking himself up every 30 minutes or so.  He woke up at 11:58, so we were all together at midnight to ring in the new year!  Despite it being a restless night, by morning Jace seemed to be feeling much better.  Hurray!  We played quietly for a few hours while Adam slept.  We even made a harness and leash for his new stuffed doggie.  Jace had a great time walking the doggie around the house.  He walked slowly and pulled carefully, but occasionally the doggie would tip over – and Jace would laugh and laugh!  When Adam woke up, he suggested I take a nap while he played with Jace (yay!), so I headed up to bed.  When I came back downstairs, every toy in the whole playroom was on the floor and Adam and Jace were curled up reading a book.  I think they had fun.  And I got a nap.  It was a great start to 2015!
IMG_8740 IMG_8703

3 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Hope everyone is feeling better today! Does everyone at Weis know you guys? ; ) I love Jacen’s tunnel, the ice cream and the book! 🙂 xoxo

  2. Happy new year!!! What a great post! I love that you and Adam are so different and that Jace is really learning the differences. Just wait until he starts saying, “That’s not how daddy does it!” So cute!!!! Looks like he got really good learning presents. Have lots of fun and GET BETTER SOON JACEN!!

  3. As far as I’m concerned ice cream makes for a good breakfast too 😀
    I hope he sleeps lots and lots and lots and fully recovers!
    Happy New Years!

Leave a Reply

