Happy Half Birthday, Jacen!

Jacen is officially 6 months old.

When I was at the pharmacy a few months ago, the pharmacist told me that these are “long days and short years”.  I totally get that now.  We have had some loooooong days (and nights), but I can’t believe it’s already been half a year!   g

The first pictures are from when Jace was 2 days old.  Next are the “month” pictures.0 0a 1 2 3 4 5 e

Here are my comparison pictures of Jace at one month and at six months.  Hard to believe that in the one month pictures he’s almost a full two pounds heavier than the first time I got to hold him.  He looks so small at one month!  I tried to make the lion the same size in the pictures….  I’m so glad we don’t have twice-a-week weight checks anymore.  Jace is doing so well!  YAY JACEN!SideFront

Lastly, check this out – you can link to documents!

In case anyone is interested, here is the official NICU Discharge Summary for Jace.
And, in case anyone has a ton of extra time, here is a SUPER LONG document that Adam and I wrote talking about the day Jace was born.

Happy Half Birthday, Jace!

4 thoughts on “Happy Half Birthday, Jacen!

  1. I just read your amazing story of Jace’s earliest days (yes, it’s 11:20 a.m. and I haven’t started any of my day’s work yet) and it was SO well-written and gripping! And touching. What comes through most, to me, is what a strong team the two if you are. I love that Adam was reading those baby books! Not all daddies do… And the pictures are wonderful, although the poor lion is shrinking fast! Also, do they make onesies for 21-year-old’s? I hope not, for Jacen’s sake. 🙂

    • I never knew half of this stuff! I feel horrible that we weren’t more supportive or involved. Sometimes you just need to stay away and let a new family spend time at first, but YIKES!! i wish we had done something to be helpful. So sorry we didn’t get the seriousness or reality of it. maybe we were in end-of-session “out of it-ness” or just heard “everyone is fine” and didn’t think through all the challenges. anyway, i’m so sorry! but i love the letters to jacen, and he is going to know all about his early years. i think my kids still have all their stuff stored in a box somewhere, if i kept it. Yay for you being such good custodians of his life’s story! love you! and i also love that he was ALMOST born on his great-grandma’s birthday…close enough for me! xoxo

  2. Hurray! This is an amazing story, with the happiest of “endings!” We love you 3 so much. You were so brave, SallyRose, and Adam, you were amazing, and Jace, you were such a fighter, and are the greatest gift! This letter to Jace will be quite something for him when he is finally old enough to understand it. I can’t wait to hear what he has to say about it! Thanks for sharing this story with us, and for giving us the greatest little grandson in the world! 🙂

  3. i, too, read your wonderful letter to Jacen. That is so cool that you did that for him. He will love the story and will want to hear it from you over and over when he gets bigger and can understand it. You guys WERE an amazing team and you were both so brave. You kept Jacen’s best interests in mind every step of the way! And now look at him….he doesn’t look like he was premature, does he? He is so big and healthy! He is so happy. He is sitting up! He is holdilng himself up with those hands! He is smiling and laughing. He’s traveling!! What a great start to a long and happy life!

Leave a Reply

