Bath Time!

Jace hasn’t quite decided if he likes bath time or not….  He definitely does NOT like the first jump into the water.  He definitely DOES like to have his hair washed.  As for everything else, he’s still unsure.  He goes from happy to angry and back to happy surprisingly quickly.  The two pictures below were taken 3 seconds apart.photo-8 (2) photo-9 (2)

Not quite sure about this “bath time” thing….
photo-10 (2)
photo-11 (2)

And yes, we give our son a bath in a mixing bowl.  Don’t judge.  We have a cool bather thing to use when he gets a little bigger, though!  And while we’re in a non-judgmental mindset, check out this next picture….
104_2347a

Completely adorable, right?  The giraffe is a “WubbaNub” – a stuffed animal with a pacifier attached.  It helps Jace keep the pacifier in his mouth because the stuffed animal is less likely to fly across the crib when he sneezes.

But if you zoom out on this super cute picture, you’ll see this:  104_2347 Yes, Jace is half-dressed, laying on his changing pad, on the floor in the middle of the room.  He was crying.  And crying.  And I changed him and he got so happy and calm!  I started to re-snap his outfit and he looked like he was going to start crying again, so I stopped.  I didn’t want to leave him on the changing table because it’s about 3 feet off the ground, but I definitely didn’t want to disturb him.  So I picked up the whole changing pad and moved him to the ground.  And it worked like a charm for a solid 45 minutes.  Totally worth it!   He’s in a clean diaper, with socks on, and I made sure Cuervo didn’t step on him, so it really was semi-responsible parenting, I think.

4 thoughts on “Bath Time!

  1. Totally smart move! Uncle Jimmy is here and he said, “you can read all the books you want, but when it comes down to it, you’re on your own!” I said that is when the creativity comes in, as you so wisely displayed!
    Xoxo Be

  2. You guys are doing the parenting thing exactly right. And believe me, there is no rule that says babies must wear an outfit every day. In fact, SR, your own mother was visiting me when Sarah was about 4 months old, and Sarah was wearing a sleeper, as usual, and your mom said, in a very nice way, “Does she ever wear anything other than pajamas?” Until that moment, it never occurred to me to dress her in anything else. I mean, where was she going that she had to dress up? Anyway, from then on, I put a t-shirt on her, and a diaper. When company came over, I had a little dress that made her look sort of funny. Eventually she got to wear hand-me-down overalls. And I bought her little baby work boots. Or in other words, you can dress your baby ANY WAY YOU WANT. There really is no “wrong way.” You are an excellent mommy. 🙂

  3. Loved the bath time pictures! The picture of him dressed after his bath made me imagine I could small that “baby smell”. Can’t wait to catch bath time in person, and get a big whiff of the “baby smell” in person. See you almost soon.

  4. I loved your response, Cherie! He is the cutest and nothing beats that baby smell! And Leslie, if you read this, MY babies slept in wolf skins, being Alaskan, and all. Ha! It was sleepers until they were 10! What else would keep them warm?

Leave a Reply

