Who Needs Sleep?

Last night was a long night.  Jace was not happy.  So far, every time he’s been upset we can do something – feed him, change him, bounce him, swaddle him, rock him, etc – and he’ll calm down.  We don’t always do the right thing first, but if we try everything, something will work.  Well, NOT LAST NIGHT!  My goodness, I have NO IDEA what was wrong.  Finally we just swaddled him really tightly and put him in his swing.  That seemed to be the magic combination, because he finally fell asleep.  ‘Course by that point we’d used up 2.5 hours, so it was only 30 minute before he was due to eat again.  Luckily, after that feeding he seemed content to cuddle up next to Adam.  Today is going slightly better – he’s still not super content, but he’s asleep in his swing right now (yay for swings!).  I decided to do some laundry while I had a few minutes.  So many of the things I was washing for Jace had the same dang tag on them.  It’s a huge white tag that says “SLEEP” in big letters and the word is CROSSED OUT in red.  I would understand it if it was a message about safe sleep or something, but nooooooo, there’s no other mention of anything related to sleeping on the tag.  It’s just like a mean little message to parents.  Hmmmm.  So I got scissors and cut off all the tags.  I feel better.  Tired, but better!  It’s a good thing Jace is so darn cute!

photo-8 (2)

104_2317

104_2305

2 thoughts on “Who Needs Sleep?

  1. When Dave was little, he rarely slept. He didn’t even nap much. At night, when he wasn’t sleeping, he was crying. I can remember walking him back and forth in our downstairs at around 3 a.m. Larry and Sarah were upstairs asleep. I was absolutely exhausted. He was crying, I was crying. I felt so lonely, like I was the only person in New Hampshire who was awake at that hour. Of course, I was wrong. DAVE was awake, too. Anyway, this is why old people don’t have babies. We leave it to you youngsters who somehow manage to function on a couple of hours sleep here and there. It will get better, SR, I promise.

    Have you read about the “Happiest Baby on the Block” guy? The pediatrician who wrote a book about the magic way to soothe your baby out of a crying fit? You probably have, but just in case, here’s a video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ddRkI5wVIqQ I’ve tried it on a real, live screaming newborn and it works! I was amazed.

    You’re right about that mean anti-sleep tag, SR. It’s just trying to remind you how sleepy you are. It’s also reminding you that the item of clothing hasn’t been treated with a flame retardant, so it’s not guaranteed safe by the US Government (!!) for sleeping. Also, there are warnings about how baby sleep clothes should fit snugly and not have anything like hoods or ties or fancy bows or whatever that could choke the baby. Blah, blah, blah.

    Do I sound like a huge know-it-all? Ugh. I’ll stop. I wish we lived closer. I would bring over chocolate chip cookies, and then babysit so you could have a nap. And I wouldn’t offer any advice at all, promise. Love you!

  2. Whoa! I totally remember you crying and crying, and finally crying with you, because I couldn’t figure out what to do. So frustrating, and upsetting! That video seemed awesome! I hope you haven’t needed it again so soon, but it looks interesting. Let me know if it works! You are a great mom! You tried everything you could think of, and little Jace finally calmed down, from fatigue/exhaustion? passing gas? the magic swing? your hugs? It is so much of a guessing game! I wish I could have been with you to struggle along side! I wouldn’t have had “the answer,” but we could have taken turns trying! That swing can be the miracle cure! Hopefully there won’t be a next time, but you can try Aunt Leslie’s video cure She has all the answers! I love you! Xoxo

Leave a Reply

