Welcome Home, Jacen!

We’re home!

photo 2photo 4

On Sunday, they told us it would probably be 7-10 days before we’d be going home.  On Monday, I met with Jace’s doctor and he asked if we could spend the night at the hospital for the next two nights, then we could all go home on Wednesday!

Monday night we did what they call “rooming out”.  Jace stayed in his room and Adam and I stayed in a room down the hall.   We showed up every 3 hours for feeding times and were allowed to spend as much time in Jace’s room as we wanted (doing the diaper changes, holding him, taking his temperature, etc).  Basically, it was a test to see how well he would handle breast feeding instead of bottle feeding.

Tuesday night we did what they call “rooming in”.  Jace was still hooked to his monitors, but he stayed in the room with us!

Wednesday we spent a lot of the day at the NICU just waiting to meet with all the different doctors.  We have all kinds of discharge instructions – follow up appointments, physical therapy recommendations, supplies they gave us, rules and suggestions for care, etc, etc, etc.  Around 3pm, we got officially released from the NICU!photo 1 (2)

photo 2 (2)

Our pets are not quite sure what to think about all of this.  Cody is terrified of Jace.  Cuervo is curious and seems to want to protect Adam and me from this new and tiny “threat”.  And I’m not sure Claire has even noticed that Jace is here.photo 1

Anyways, we have the first appointment with our pediatrician tomorrow at 9:45am.  I have my first postpartum appointment tomorrow too (2 week check up).  Adam and I are excited to ask our doctor a ton of questions about what happened and why.  More on that later.  Right now Jacen is asleep which means it is definitely nap time for us!   photo 3

5 thoughts on “Welcome Home, Jacen!

  1. All I can say is whooo hoo!!!
    And way to go little NICU graduate!
    And he looks like he’s loving his nursery, crib, and turtle!

  2. Hurray for the Estrella Family! We’re glad Jace is home and doing well! We love you three so much! Thanks for making us grandparents! See you soon! Xoxo

  3. That is so exciting Sally and Adam! I’m glad that things are going so well. I keep giving everyone updates up here. It is so exciting. I’m glad he is home too. I’m glad you get to post so many pictures. I can’t wait to see more.

  4. Yay for Jacen Thomas! What a trooper! I can’t believe he is out so soon, must mean he is strong and doing everything right! What a good baby boy! And Yay for you guys, too. You must be so exhausted, but now the real world begins and you can make it beautiful and peaceful with no bells or alarms. I know those kitties will soon love him and Cuervo is already a good protector! I loved the picture of Cody…looked like he was a little scared of Jace (or was that Claire?). Just wait till he can pull their tails!!! Yahoo!!! I also liked the little party that was set up for you guys when you got home! I wonder who did that????? xoxoxoxoxoxo

Leave a Reply

